KITT Replica

"Absolutely beautiful car. I've seen cars all around the world, but that one beats them all".

David Hasselhoff

Front KITT Replica "Knight of Germany
Martin Busker and George Barris to KITT

The vision

Unfortunately, none of the original Hero Cars from the series survived in their original state. So director Martin Busker came up with the idea of building a replica of the vehicle, sparing no expense or effort to get as close to the original as possible. Since K.I.T.T. looks different in almost every scene due to the large number of production vehicles, Martin and his team determined the most common variants from 6000 screenshots of the first two seasons and based their work on them.

However, Martin also met with the owners of the most famous replicas in the USA and, last but not least, with show vehicle legend George Barris, who worked on the K.I.T.T. vehicles on "Knight Rider". 

In addition, the hobbyists have visited several junkyards in California to find each of the rare conversion parts of a classic Trans Am in order to be able to fully dispense with replicas.

The vision

Unfortunately, none of the original Hero Cars from the series survived in their original state. So director Martin Busker came up with the idea of building a replica of the vehicle, sparing no expense or effort to get as close to the original as possible. Since K.I.T.T. looks different in almost every scene due to the large number of production vehicles, Martin and his team determined the most common variants from 6000 screenshots of the first two seasons and based their work on them.

Front KITT Replica "Knight of Germany

However, Martin also met with the owners of the most famous replicas in the USA and, last but not least, with show vehicle legend George Barris, who worked on the K.I.T.T. vehicles on "Knight Rider".

Martin Busker and George Barris to KITT

In addition, the hobbyists have visited several junkyards in California to find each of the rare conversion parts of a classic Trans Am in order to be able to fully dispense with replicas.

Command Centre & Cockpit

The interior

One of the most striking features of K.I.T.T. is the dashboard. During the filming of the series, it was made of GRP and so this is also reproduced down to the smallest detail. The mould itself is a cast of an original part used in the series. In addition to the flashing animations, the displays also show real vehicle functions. Most important, however, is K.I.T.T.'s voice modulation in the so-called voice box. Almost all of the buttons have real functions or trigger animations.

Even apart from the dashboard, we have gone into the important details such as the rare PMD seats, a full 1982 interior, door emblems, tape deck and even the correct carpet.

We have also made sure that there is nothing that does not belong in the car. So all the replica-typical things like a control box for the scanner are hidden and not visible. Admittedly, the belts are still there, unlike the original, but without them there would unfortunately be no approval.

KITT Knight Rider Dashboard Voicebox
PMD Seats Tan in KITT Replica by Knight of Germany
KITT Replica Overhead Console Season 2 Knight of Germany

Command Centre & Cockpit

The interior

One of the most striking features of K.I.T.T. is the dashboard. During the filming of the series it was made of GRP and so this is also reproduced down to the smallest detail.

KITT Knight Rider Dashboard Voicebox

The mould itself is a cast of an original part used in the series. In addition to the flashing animations, the displays also show real vehicle functions. Most important, however, is K.I.T.T.'s voice modulation in the so-called voice box. Almost all of the buttons have real functions or trigger animations.

KITT Replica Overhead Console Season 2 Knight of Germany

Even apart from the dashboard, we have gone into the important details such as the rare PMD seats, a full 1982 interior, door emblems, tape deck and even the correct carpet.

PMD Seats Tan in KITT Replica by Knight of Germany

We have also made sure that there is nothing that does not belong in the car. So all the replica-typical things like a control box for the scanner are hidden and not visible. Admittedly, the belts are still there, unlike the original, but without them there would unfortunately be no approval.

Scanner KITT Replica Close-up
Turbo Cast Rims with Bowling Ball Hubcaps Close-up KITT Replica
Folding Headlight Pontiac Firebird Trans Am by KITT Replica "Knight of Germany

Front, Scanner etc.

The exterior

Although K.I.T.T. is 80% a normal black Trans Am from the outside, some details are perfectly reproduced due to the rare special equipment from 1982 and the many changes made by the car designer Michael Scheffe.

The scanner in the replica pointed front nose is fitted with 8 x 55 watt halogen bulbs, just like the original, so you can see them even in the Californian sun. The rare Cowl-Induction bonnet is original as well as the wings with vents, the Turbo Cast rims with aluminium hubcaps, the rare 82 special edition trim, the rear window without heater, the correct Trans Am tail lights behind a plexiglass blackout and much more.

As with the original, the paintwork does not have a clear coat, but a single-layer uni-coat, which minimises too much shine. 

Effects such as a powerful CO2 jet behind the front grills, a laser or a fog outlet at the rear provide special eye-catchers. Of course, the car has a V8 engine for the characteristic sound and is supported by a turbine sound system.  

Front, Scanner etc.

The exterior

Although K.I.T.T. is 80% a normal black Trans Am from the outside, some details are perfectly reproduced due to the rare special equipment from 1982 and the many changes made by the car designer Michael Scheffe.

Scanner KITT Replica Close-up

The scanner in the replica pointed front nose is fitted with 8 x 55 watt halogen bulbs, just like the original, so you can see them even in the Californian sun. The rare Cowl-Induction bonnet is original as well as the wings with vents, the Turbo Cast rims with aluminium hubcaps, the rare 82 special edition trim, the rear window without heater, the correct Trans Am tail lights behind a plexiglass blackout and much more.

Folding Headlight Pontiac Firebird Trans Am by KITT Replica "Knight of Germany

As with the original, the paintwork does not have a clear coat, but a single-layer uni-coat, which minimises too much shine.

Turbo Cast Rims with Bowling Ball Hubcaps Close-up KITT Replica

Effects such as a powerful CO2 jet behind the front grills, a laser or a fog outlet at the rear provide special eye-catchers. Of course, the car has a V8 engine for the characteristic sound and is supported by a turbine sound system.  

Special highlight

The original license plate

We are more than proud to have a special equipment highlight, which, however, is only screwed onto the car on special occasions: an original license plate from the real K.I.T.T.

During a visit to Los Angeles, a contact of Martin's was so enthusiastic about his passion for the project that he gave him the showcase piece he had cherished for many years. This friend works in the same studio where many of the interior shots used to be shot, such as the Foundation offices or the interior of the SEMI truck. A former Car Wrangler of the production vehicles once gave it to him and he has continued to give it to Martin. This special piece of Knight Rider history adds the finishing touches to the car every now and then, for example when he is on the road with David Hasselhoff. 

Original number plate from KITT
Original KITT number plate from Knight Rider

Special highlight

The original license plate

We are more than proud to have a special equipment highlight, which, however, is only screwed onto the car on special occasions: an original license plate from the real K.I.T.T.

Original number plate from KITT

During a visit to Los Angeles, a contact of Martin's was so enthusiastic about his passion for the project that he gave him the showcase piece he had cherished for many years. This friend works in the same studio where many of the interior shots used to be shot, such as the Foundation offices or the interior of the SEMI truck. A former Car Wrangler of the production vehicles once gave it to him and he has continued to give it to Martin. 

Original KITT number plate from Knight Rider

This special piece of Knight Rider history puts the finishing touches on the car every now and then, for example when it is on the road with David Hasselhoff. 

Original number plate from KITT
Original KITT number plate from Knight Rider
KITT Replica Close-up Tail Knight of Germany Berlin

On the road with

The Hoff

Our K.I.T.T. accompanied David Hasselhoff on his "30 Years Looking for Freedom" tour 2018 as the official tour car through all cities in Germany and Austria and served as a photo op at press appointments.

Logistically, this was a big challenge and we covered more than 8000 km. It was also a stress test for the show technology, which was in continuous use for a month and ran for up to 8 hours at a time without a single failure. 

Although it is always a great pleasure to see David Hasselhoff in our K.I.T.T., we were particularly touched by the shining eyes of the fans when they streamed into the hall in each city and came face to face with the dream car of their childhood for the first time. K.I.T.T. was also on display for visitors at every location.

On the road with

The Hoff

Our K.I.T.T. accompanied David Hasselhoff on his "30 Years Looking for Freedom" tour 2018 as the official tour car through all cities in Germany and Austria and served as a photo op at press appointments.

Logistically, this was a big challenge and we covered more than 8000 km. It was also a stress test for the show technology, which was in continuous use for a month and ran for up to 8 hours at a time without a single failure.

KITT Replica Close-up Tail Knight of Germany Berlin

Although it is always a great pleasure to see David Hasselhoff in our K.I.T.T., we were particularly touched by the shining eyes of the fans when they streamed into the hall in each city and came face to face with the dream car of their childhood for the first time. K.I.T.T. was also on display for visitors at every location.

Not had enough yet?

Take a look at the photo gallery. If you have any questions or are interested in renting the car, please contact us.

Not had enough yet?

Take a look at the photo gallery. If you have any questions or are interested in renting the car, please contact us.

Photo Courtesy: Martin Busker, Bastian Kästner, POP-EYE/ Ben Kriemann, Imago, A. Havergox/ Future Image, Norddeutscher Rundfunk

KITT Replika

“Absolutely beautiful car. I’ve seen cars all around the world, but that one beats them all”

David Hasselhoff

Front KITT Replika "Knight of Germany"
Martin Busker und George Barris an KITT

Die Vision

Leider hat keines der originalen Hero-Cars der Serie im Urzustand überlebt. Daher entstand beim Regisseur Martin Busker die Idee, ein Replika des Fahrzeug zu bauen, bei dem keine Kosten und Mühen gescheut werden, um dem Original so nahe wie möglich zu kommen. Da K.I.T.T. aufgrund der Vielzahl von Produktionsfahrzeugen nahezu in jeder Szene anders aussieht, haben Martin und sein Team aus 6000 Screenshots der ersten beiden Staffeln die häufigsten Varianten ermittelt und sich daran orientiert.

Martin hat sich jedoch auch mit den Besitzern der bekanntesten Replikas in den USA getroffen und nicht zuletzt mit der Showfahrzeug-Legende George Barris, der bei “Knight Rider” an den K.I.T.T. Fahrzeugen gearbeitet hat. 

Darüber hinaus haben die Bastler etliche Schrottplätze in Kalifornien besucht, um jedes der seltenen Umbauteile eines klassischen Trans Ams zu finden, um voll auf Nachbildungen verzichten zu können.

Die Vision

Leider hat keines der originalen Hero-Cars der Serie im Urzustand überlebt. Daher entstand beim Regisseur Martin Busker die Idee, ein Replika des Fahrzeug zu bauen, bei dem keine Kosten und Mühen gescheut werden, um dem Original so nahe wie möglich zu kommen. Da K.I.T.T. aufgrund der Vielzahl von Produktionsfahrzeugen nahezu in jeder Szene anders aussieht, haben Martin und sein Team aus 6000 Screenshots der ersten beiden Staffeln die häufigsten Varianten ermittelt und sich daran orientiert.

Front KITT Replika "Knight of Germany"

Martin hat sich jedoch auch mit den Besitzern der bekanntesten Replikas in den USA getroffen und nicht zuletzt mit der Showfahrzeug-Legende George Barris, der bei “Knight Rider” an den K.I.T.T. Fahrzeugen gearbeitet hat.

Martin Busker und George Barris an KITT

Darüber hinaus haben die Bastler etliche Schrottplätze in Kalifornien besucht, um jedes der seltenen Umbauteile eines klassischen Trans Ams zu finden, um voll auf Nachbildungen verzichten zu können.

Kommandozentrale & Cockpit

Der Innenraum

Eines der auffälligsten Merkmale von K.I.T.T. ist das Armaturenbrett. Bei den Dreharbeiten der Serie war es aus GFK gefertigt und so ist auch dieses bis ins kleinste Detail nachgebildet. Die Form selbst ist ein Abguss eines bei der Serie benutzten Originalteils. Neben den blinkenden Animationen zeigen die Displays auch echte Fahrzeugfunktionen an. Am wichtigsten ist jedoch K.I.T.T.s Sprachmodulation in der sogenannten Voice Box. Nahezu alle der Tasten haben echte Funktionen oder lösen Animationen aus.

Auch vom Armaturenbrett abgesehen sind wir auf die wichtigen Details eingegangen, wie den seltenen PMD-Sitzen, einer vollen Innenausstattung von 1982, Türemblemen, Tape Deck und selbst dem korrekten Teppich.

Wir haben darüber hinaus dafür gesorgt, dass nichts da ist, was nicht in den Wagen gehört. So sind alle Replika-typischen Dinge wie eine Controlbox für den Scanner versteckt angebracht und nicht zu sehen. Zugegeben – die Gurte sind im Gegensatz zum Original noch da, aber ohne diese gäbe es leider keine Zulassung.

KITT Knight Rider Dashboard Voicebox
PMD Sitze Tan in KITT Replika von Knight of Germany
KITT Replika Overhead Konsole Staffel 2 Knight of Germany

Kommandozentrale & Cockpit

Der Innenraum

Eines der auffälligsten Merkmale von K.I.T.T. ist das Armaturenbrett. Bei den Dreharbeiten der Serie war es aus GFK gefertigt und so ist auch dieses bis ins kleinste Detail nachgebildet.

KITT Knight Rider Dashboard Voicebox

Die Form selbst ist ein Abguss eines bei der Serie benutzten Originalteils. Neben den blinkenden Animationen zeigen die Displays auch echte Fahrzeugfunktionen an. Am wichtigsten ist jedoch K.I.T.T.s Sprachmodulation in der sogenannten Voice Box. Nahezu alle der Tasten haben echte Funktionen oder lösen Animationen aus.

KITT Replika Overhead Konsole Staffel 2 Knight of Germany

Auch vom Armaturenbrett abgesehen sind wir auf die wichtigen Details eingegangen, wie den seltenen PMD-Sitzen, einer vollen Innenausstattung von 1982, Türemblemen, Tape Deck und selbst dem korrekten Teppich.

PMD Sitze Tan in KITT Replika von Knight of Germany

Wir haben darüber hinaus dafür gesorgt, dass nichts da ist, was nicht in den Wagen gehört. So sind alle Replika-typischen Dinge wie eine Controlbox für den Scanner versteckt angebracht und nicht zu sehen. Zugegeben – die Gurte sind im Gegensatz zum Original noch da, aber ohne diese gäbe es leider keine Zulassung.

Scanner KITT Replika Nahaufnahme
Turbo Cast Felgen mit Bowlingball Hubcaps Nahaufnahme KITT Replika
Klappscheinwerfer Pontiac Firebird Trans Am von KITT Replika "Knight of Germany"

Front, Scanner & Co

Die Aussenhaut

Zwar ist K.I.T.T. von aussen zu 80% ein normaler schwarzer Trans Am, doch durch die seltene Sonderausstattung von 1982 und den vielen Änderungen des Car-Designers Michael Scheffe, sind einige Details perfekt nachzubilden.

Der Scanner in der nachgebildeten, spitzen Frontnase ist wie im Original mit 8 x 55 Watt Halogenbirnen ausgestattet, so das man sie selbst in kalifornischer Sonne sehen kann. Die seltene Cowl-Induction Motorhaube ist ebenso original wie die Kotflügel mit Vents, die Turbo Cast Felgen mit Aluminium Hubcaps, die seltenen Zierleisten der 82er Sonderedition, die Heckscheibe ohne Heizung, die korrekten Trans Am Rückleuchten hinter einem Plexiglas Blackout uvm.

Der Lack ist wie beim Original nicht mit Klarlack versehen sondern mit einem Einschicht-Unilack gearbeitet, der allzu große Glanzlichter minimiert. 

Effekte wie ein starker CO2-Jet hinter den Front-Grills, ein Laser oder ein Nebelauslass am Heck sorgen für besondere Hingucker. Natürlich hat der Wagen einen V8 Motor für den charakteristischen Klang und wird von einem Turbinensound System unterstützt.  

Front, Scanner & Co

Die Aussenhaut

Zwar ist K.I.T.T. von aussen zu 80% ein normaler schwarzer Trans Am, doch durch die seltene Sonderausstattung von 1982 und den vielen Änderungen des Car-Designers Michael Scheffe, sind einige Details perfekt nachzubilden.

Scanner KITT Replika Nahaufnahme

Der Scanner in der nachgebildeten, spitzen Frontnase ist wie im Original mit 8 x 55 Watt Halogenbirnen ausgestattet, so das man sie selbst in kalifornischer Sonne sehen kann. Die seltene Cowl-Induction Motorhaube ist ebenso original wie die Kotflügel mit Vents, die Turbo Cast Felgen mit Aluminium Hubcaps, die seltenen Zierleisten der 82er Sonderedition, die Heckscheibe ohne Heizung, die korrekten Trans Am Rückleuchten hinter einem Plexiglas Blackout uvm.

Klappscheinwerfer Pontiac Firebird Trans Am von KITT Replika "Knight of Germany"

Der Lack ist wie beim Original nicht mit Klarlack versehen sondern mit einem Einschicht-Unilack gearbeitet, der allzu große Glanzlichter minimiert.

Turbo Cast Felgen mit Bowlingball Hubcaps Nahaufnahme KITT Replika

Effekte wie ein starker CO2-Jet hinter den Front-Grills, ein Laser oder ein Nebelauslass am Heck sorgen für besondere Hingucker. Natürlich hat der Wagen einen V8 Motor für den charakteristischen Klang und wird von einem Turbinensound System unterstützt.  

Besonderes Highlight

Das Originale Nummernschild

Wir sind mehr als stolz, ein besonderes Ausstattungs-Highlight zu haben, das aber nur zu besonderen Anlässen an den Wagen geschraubt wird: ein originales Nummernschild vom echten K.I.T.T.

Beim Besuch in Los Angeles war ein Kontakt von Martin so begeistert von seiner Leidenschaft für das Projekt, dass er ihm das langjährig gehegte Vitrinenstück geschenkt hat. Dieser Freund arbeitet im gleichen Studio, wo früher viele der Innenaufnahmen gedreht wurden, wie die Büros der Foundation oder das Innere des SEMI Trucks. Ein ehemaliger Car-Wrangler der Produktionsfahrzeuge hat es ihm einmal geschenkt und er hat es Martin weiter verschenkt. Dieses besondere Stück Knight Rider Geschichte verleiht dem Wagen hin und wieder den letzten Schliff, z.B. wenn er mit David Hasselhoff unterwegs ist. 

Originales Nummernschild von KITT
Originales Nummernschild von KITT aus Knight Rider

Besonderes Highlight

Das Originale Nummernschild

Wir sind mehr als stolz, ein besonderes Ausstattungs-Highlight zu haben, das aber nur zu besonderen Anlässen an den Wagen geschraubt wird: ein originales Nummernschild vom echten K.I.T.T.

Originales Nummernschild von KITT

Beim Besuch in Los Angeles war ein Kontakt von Martin so begeistert von seiner Leidenschaft für das Projekt, dass er ihm das langjährig gehegte Vitrinenstück geschenkt hat. Dieser Freund arbeitet im gleichen Studio, wo früher viele der Innenaufnahmen gedreht wurden, wie die Büros der Foundation oder das Innere des SEMI Trucks. Ein ehemaliger Car-Wrangler der Produktionsfahrzeuge hat es ihm einmal geschenkt und er hat es Martin weiter verschenkt. 

Originales Nummernschild von KITT aus Knight Rider

Dieses besondere Stück Knight Rider Geschichte verleiht dem Wagen hin und wieder den letzten Schliff, z.B. wenn er mit David Hasselhoff unterwegs ist. 

Originales Nummernschild von KITT
Originales Nummernschild von KITT aus Knight Rider
KITT Replika Nahaufnahme Heck Knight of Germany Berlin

Unterwegs mit

The hoff

Unser K.I.T.T. hat David Hasselhoff auf seiner “30 Years Looking for Freedom” Tournee 2018 als offizielles Tourcar durch alle Städte in Deutschland und Österreich begleitet und diente als Sitzgelegenheit bei Presseterminen.

Logistisch war dies eine große Herausforderung und wir haben mehr als 8000 Km zurück gelegt. Es war auch ein Belastungstest für die Showtechnik, die einen Monat lang im Dauereinsatz war und bis zu 8 Stunden am Stück ohne einen einzigen Ausfall lief. 

Zwar ist es immer wieder ein großes Vergnügen, David Hasselhoff im eigenen K.I.T.T. zu sehen, doch besonders berührt haben uns die leuchtenden Augen der Fans, wenn sie in einer jeden Stadt in die Halle strömten und erstmals dem Traumauto ihrer Kindheit gegenüber standen. K.I.T.T. wurde bei jeder Location auch für die Besucher*innen ausgestellt.

Unterwegs mit

The hoff

Unser K.I.T.T. hat David Hasselhoff auf seiner “30 Years Looking for Freedom” Tournee 2018 als offizielles Tourcar durch alle Städte in Deutschland und Österreich begleitet und diente als Sitzgelegenheit bei Presseterminen.

Logistisch war dies eine große Herausforderung und wir haben mehr als 8000 Km zurück gelegt. Es war auch ein Belastungstest für die Showtechnik, die einen Monat lang im Dauereinsatz war und bis zu 8 Stunden am Stück ohne einen einzigen Ausfall lief.

KITT Replika Nahaufnahme Heck Knight of Germany Berlin

Zwar ist es immer wieder ein großes Vergnügen, David Hasselhoff im eigenen K.I.T.T. zu sehen, doch besonders berührt haben uns die leuchtenden Augen der Fans, wenn sie in einer jeden Stadt in die Halle strömten und erstmals dem Traumauto ihrer Kindheit gegenüber standen. K.I.T.T. wurde bei jeder Location auch für die Besucher*innen ausgestellt.

Noch nicht satt gesehen?

Wirf doch einen Blick in die Fotogalerie. Solltest du Fragen haben oder Interesse an einer Anmietung haben, melde dich gerne unter Kontakt bei uns.

Noch nicht satt gesehen?

Wirf doch einen Blick in die Fotogalerie. Solltest du Fragen haben oder Interesse an einer Anmietung haben, melde dich gerne unter Kontakt bei uns.

Photo Courtesy: Martin Busker, Bastian Kästner, POP-EYE/ Ben Kriemann, Imago, A. Havergox/ Future Image, Norddeutscher Rundfunk